[Skip to Content]

The AIA Toledo Design Awards, a biennial program, seeks to recognize design excellence for private and public projects of quality, and honor works of distinction envisioned or created in northwest Ohio. The awards stand as an affirmation of the diversity and quality of the area’s contemporary regional architecture. The AIA Toledo Design Awards program is founded on the belief that excellence knows neither region nor style, and is not a function of budget, project size, or building type.



Architecture Category

New construction, renovation and restoration projects of any typology.


Small Project Category

Small project construction, renovation, object, work of environmental art or architectural design element up to 2,000 sf or $200,000 in construction cost.


Interiors Category

Projects focusing primarily on the design and development of the interior environment


Historic Preservation Category

The Historic Preservation Awards Category is for built projects, which include historic restoration, historic rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse. Projects submitted in this category may be of any project type but should include either a renovation within an existing building or a new construction that expands an existing structure or site. The intent of this award is to recognize thoughtful rehabilitations, interventions, restorations, or adaptive reuse that create a synergy between old and new construction. Routine maintenance, such as painting or reroofing is not considered restoration work for the purposes of this award.


25 Year Category

This award, recognizing architectural design of enduring significance, is conferred on a project that has stood the test of time for 25 to 35 years prior to the current year, that deserves special recognition for its influence, distinctiveness, enhancement of the built environment, and that has contributed meaningfully to American life and architecture. Submitters should reference the 25 Year Award description for unique eligibility and submission requirement.


Please review each category for the individual program eligibility and submission requirements, here.



  • Monday, March 1, 2021:  Submission Registration Opens
  • Friday, March 26, 2021:  Project submissions due
  • Friday, March 26, 2021:  Entry fee payment due 
  • April 2021:  Jury review 
  • April 29, 2021:  Design Awards Ceremony (virtual)


Completing the Submission Form
If you are a first time visitor to the site, you will need to register.  If you are returning to the site, you will have to enter your email and password.  These prompts will show up once you click on the link below.  If you have previously submitted for AIA Ohio Design Awards and checked the box "remember me", you will be directed to the next screen.  On the next screen, you may choose to begin a new submittal, or edit an existing submittal.  As noted, you can work on the submittal, save the information, and then return to complete it later. 


Begin your submission, here.