[Skip to Content]

Login or Create an Account

2016 AIA Dayton Focus on Design Awards Program

Create a New Account


The Focus on Design Awards program will promote and focus attention on quality design, high performance design, and AIA’s 10 Principles of Livable Communities.  The jury will evaluate all projects based on the aesthetic, functional, contextual and social characteristics of the design.  The jury will also evaluate submissions in categories 1-4 based on their successful response to one or more of AIA’s 10 Principles of Livable Communities.

Entries may be in one of 5 categories (awards may not be given in all categories):

1. Newly completed buildings, additions, remodelings, renovations, restorations

2. Interior projects

3. Urban design or planning projects/studies

4. Unbuilt projects

5. Sustainable Design


Entries must be completed since January 1, 2012, regardless of project size, geographical location, budget, style or building type.  Unbuilt projects include a design that will never be executed (i.e. a contest entry that was not chosen).


The submitting firm must have an active office and be registered to perform services in the state of Ohio, and have a local office in the AIA Dayton area or the project location must be within the AIA Dayton area.  If the submitting firm is not the sole author of the design, all participants substantially contributing to the design of the project must be given credit, and the submitting firm’s role must be clearly defined.  Students may submit projects for awards if sponsored by an AIA Dayton member firm.  Projects which have won AIA Dayton Design Awards in the past may not be re-submitted.